informationWhen is having too much tech gear during training a bad idea?  As a support manager in the computer industry I get that information is key to understanding where were and any change plus or minus that may have occurred.  It can be a motivator if your improving and a downer if things don’t match your expectations or vision of where you thought you were fitness wise.  I recently tired to converge the devices I have for tracking my swim, run and bike by purchasing the Garmin 920XT.  My plan was to shed the others and go solo with this device to make my life simple.  The problem with that theory is you have to be the DCRainmaker (check him out at decrainmaker.com) in order to understand and master the myriad of features the device brings to the table.  If I had hair I’d be pulling it out after this weeks swim session did not record properly.  I will spend this weekend trying to get under the covers of the manual, set and test the various feature functions to match my preference but standing in the pool at 5:30 am is not the best time of day to start the root cause analysis process.  Telling yourself to just swim the distance and not to worry about the data is like when  your kids play “I’m not touching you, I’m not touching you” holding their finger a fraction away from the eye of their tormented sibling.  Don’t get me wrong I love the gear…  I’m just too lazy to read the manual which is what most of the customers who call into my team for support don’t do either.  Which is hay they call.  Funny how technology can help and humble us … make us feel smart and feel stupid.. This will be a coffee and instruction book weekend…

Leave a Reply

