Friends, co-workers and family can influence us in many ways. Some are subtle and others happen without us even realizing it. Why should we care? John Rohn a motivational speaker is quoted as having said: “You are the average of the five people you spend the most of your time with.”

jimrohn1

So who are your Fab Five? Are they five that you feel should average into your life?

Recently, I had the occasion to spend time with two of my Marine Corps buddies Steve and Mike. Over dinner Steve said “You know we have been friends for over 40 years now”. To be honest it had not occurred to me that we were even that old….as whenever we get together images us as young Marines roll like a movie in my head.

Why have we keep each other in our lives so long…when other friendships have come and gone?  I believe Rohn’s quote has something to do with it. These guys are part of my life’s equation…they bring different qualities that help to sum up who I am today.
The biggest variable in the sum of my life however, is my wife Abby. She is my wife, friend and love.  I am amazed at the ways she influences me every day. My feet would be riddled with holes if not for her… I am blessed to have her in my life.
There are many positive and talented people out there to surround yourself with…. so it would be very difficult for me to settle with just a specific select group. So I’ll take the liberty to modify Rohn’s quote some and suggest the following modification:

“You are the sum of the people you surround yourself with”  And in the words of the Most Interesting Man in the World “Choose Wisely My Friends”…

friends2

Leave a Reply

