It’s spring in New England and snow is still falling…Mother Nature is at her cruelest in March.  My buddy in Virginia has already mowed his lawn twice while mine has a solid 8 inches of snow pack.  Really???   Come on Spring!

The winter base building phase is over. Spring is here and its time to switch to the build phase, beginning next week. I’m 10 weeks out from my 1st race. My daily routine has taken a back seat to a series of family obligations. Wait…that’s not really true.. I let myself use family issues as the excuse for not sticking to my daily routine and weekly schedule planning.  I’m feeling regret…

“Athletes that want to be fit must suffer one of two things: the pain of a daily fitness routine or the pain of regret.”

So what’s the big deal? What have I lost other than a day here and there?

“Days are expensive and there is no refund. When you spend a day you have one less day to spend. So make sure you spend each one wisely.”

Ok, starting tomorrow Sunday…I will plan out my weekly training goals/schedule, get prepared the night before for the next day and stay on track as much as possible. It will take discipline and focus. Why do you think discipline is going to help you?

“Discipline is the bridge between goals and accomplishment.”

You know this like the back of your hand. Disciplined daily schedules and workouts can get stale…   you know they will …. What can I do to keep things interesting?  Get creative.. shake it up, break it up… make it unusual…..

“If you are not willing to risk the unusual with your training routine, you will have to settle for the ordinary in your performance.”

I always seem to start out with a lot of motivation …..but I have learned that it comes and goes. It’s the habit that really makes the difference ….   Creating that daily routine makes the habit.

“Motivation is what gets you started. Habit is what keeps you going, and a habit is nothing more than a few simple disciplines, practiced every day.”

OK …I’m feeling better now Thanks…..

Leave a Reply

