Triathlon – Sometimes you get more than you give.

Triathlon may seem it but, it is not a solo sport.

OK, technically on race day, you swim, bike, and run yourself through each event and you cross the finish line by yourself. But, before and after that, a support network is a critical component in the triathlon journey. Working with a someone with experience or a coach is a great way to learn the rules of the game, help develop workouts and plan performance strategies. 

A triathlon coach, mentor or in many cases another athlete can help with things like answering pre-race questions: “Can I get naked in transition or does anyone ever pee in their wet suit?”
Or offering emotional support, and sharing anecdotes about their own triathlon experiences. Unlike most sports…the large majority of age grouper triathletes tend to be more competitive with themselves than with fellow athletes. They support one another and will readily offer support, advice, equipment, nutrition or aid to people they don’t even know. It’s a community of character …. one that is acquired through training, discipline and challenge.

This past weekend I met Nick Cavic and his family, mom Diane and dad Michael during packet pick up. He is a high school swim team athlete who was in line to sign up for his 1st triathlon. Full of motivation, abundant courage, positive focus and a complete absence of fear, we spoke about the challenge ahead.
My first impression was that he was going to have quite an awakening once he gets out there. As we spoke more through the afternoon I could hear a true sense of confidence in his voice and see a fire in his eyes that was the type that forge determination and competitive spirt into iron will.

I shared whatever experience and encouragement I could in the short time we spent walking the race venue but, as I drove home thinking about our conversations I can honestly say I got more from Nick (a 16 yr. old, high school junior / newbie to the sport) than I shared with him.

My 3 main goals for this race was to test my 8 weeks of base training and get a baseline for the build portion of my training plan. In order to do that I needed to keep myself in control and stay on plan which was to finish the race and have fun period. I typically get all twisted before any race and frankly it makes the days that lead up to the race full of anxiety.


As I drove home thinking about Nick’s enthusiasm and absence of fear or anxiety I began to rewrite my pre race narrative. I decided I would be a kid again at 69….see the race as an adventure…. assume the confidence he exhibited and have a blast. Those gifts he gave me totally wiped away the anxiety I normally felt before any race I’d had before. I focused on being a kid and see life through his eyes…
I felt the spark… My day went as planned…even better if I’m really honest… Nick passed me in the last 1/4 mile of the run…Hey Don….he yelled as he passed with a huge smile on his face…. which to me felt like another gift.



Many thanks to the Cavic Family…It was my pleasure to meet you all and to my brother triathlete Nick… keep rocking it!

One thought on “Triathlon – Sometimes you get more than you give.

Leave a comment