You can take the kid out of Cambridge but…..

I just got home from a Cambridge High and Latin, high school class of 73 reunion for those who live full time or are snowbirds in the Naples Florida area. Although it was a small turnout, considering we were a class of over 600 seniors back in 1973…. small when it comes a gathering of kids from Cambridge never truly means small. Any number of Cantabridgians greater than zero can fill a room with more laughter, and happiness that is equal to an opening day at Fenway Park.

As the saying goes…

“You can take the kid out of Cambridge but, you can’t take the Cambridge out of the kid”


What makes us so unique….well our nature is to communicate through stories….but not just any old stories. We tell stories that appeal to the senses and our emotions, not only drawing the attention of the listener, but stories that leave an impact on them both emotional and physical. This is an art we inherit by simply growing in a city where we learn to laugh at life and more importantly ourselves.

Tonight, I heard tales of sadness that gripped me by the throat, making it impossible for me to swallow. Yet, in the space of a few more words had me laughing so hard that I thought I’d break a rib. Stories that shift the listener from sadness to full out laughter in seconds is like a brain freeze from eating ice cream. We share humor for how and why life changes because it provides psychological relief of strong emotions causing catharsis.

I’m choosing not to share any of the stories I heard tonight. I frankly don’t think I can do them the justice they deserve without the expressions and histrionics that made so special. I’m writing to invite you to create a gathering of classmates for yourself. Our classmates are ubiquitous (note big word use there) …just look around and you’ll be surprised…. Invite a group to lunch, coffee or drinks. Hear the stories they have collected in these 50+ years since we left CHLS and I guarantee they will enrich your soul…or at least make you laugh in the mirror. And what could be healthier than that?




3 thoughts on “You can take the kid out of Cambridge but…..

Leave a comment