The Golden Days.

You get the age you have earned…..

Lately, my bladder is not the only reminder that I’m getting older. My daughters have grown into adults, my grandkids are nearing middle school ages, remembering names, dates and times elude me more and more as the list goes on….. I tend not to focus on aging, as in my mind I’m still the high school version of myself. People, mirrors and an aging body though keep me grounded and reminded that time has brought with it changes.

Once in a while I’ll hear statements made by others that bring the truth about my current age into perspective. After a recent bike ride I overheard a fellow biker say that he was so tired (after a group ride) that he felt like he was about 60 years old. I laughed because I was feeling pretty much like I was 50.. except he is in his early 50’s and I left my 50’s behind almost 2 decades ago. 

The mouths of babes

Remembering family that have passed on is a tradition for us during Thanksgiving. This year we paid respects to our parents and to LooLoo our yellow Labrador Retriever of almost 14 years. We remembered her kind and gentle nature to all, but especially her patience and loving way with children. The very youngest member of our family gathering this year was Riley….She mentioned playing with LooLoo at our home and said that she really wanted to do it once again. In an effort to help her understand the cycle of life her mom said “Well honey, poor LooLoo got too old and it was her time to go to doggy heaven”. Riley innocently replied….

“I know Mommy ….when dogs and people get too old they die and go to heaven”
Then, looking straight into my eyes from the opposite end of the table and as if truth could make time stand still, she said;

“Kind of like you Don!”

Now, it has been said that, Jesus never uttered a loftier or a grander truth than when he said that wisdom cometh out of the mouths of babes.

Well if life is that uncertain for us old dogs then…next Thanksgiving we start off with dessert first…

2 thoughts on “The Golden Days.

  1. Anonymous

    Life is like an obstacle course with hurdles.When you’re younger ,you fly over the hurdles .As we get older,the hurdles seem to get higher and harder. The trick is never stop trying. You know what they say ,this is not a dress rehearsal

    Like

Leave a comment