Quotes

Being a woman is no job for a man…..

I heard this quote by Robert Horn (Tootsie / Playwright) while attending a performance of Tootsie at the Ogunquit Playhouse in Maine. Tootsie is the story of a difficult actor whose reputation for being argumentative drives him to adopt the identity as a woman to land an acting job.

Sometimes I hear a quote and a curtain draws down in my mind blocking out all subsequent words and actions. My mind fixates on it because I have a passion for words… especially when they combine to create emotions like; the feeling of a punch in the gut, tears of joy, a sense of freedom, the power of gratitude, loss, regret, etc..

So, what’s the deal with “Being a woman is no job for a man”? Well…. There is so much I can write about how impossible I believe that job is for a any man… I’m not saying men and woman aren’t equal…. I believe they are equal and different…. and they can do the same things but I think they do them differently. My mom raise five boys as a single woman, during WWII she operated a tower crane in the Watertown Arsenal and climbed a 200+ foot ladder each day to get into the operators box, cleaned house, cooked meals, volunteered to help others less fortunate and paid her bills. I personally don’t know any man that would or could do all these things and still smile. If it is true that “one good quote deserves another” here is one I believe fits my thinking here..

“Woman who seek to be men lack ambition, men who seek to be woman are naively over ambitious”.


 

5 thoughts on “Quotes

  1. Anonymous

    Donnie- This is just fabulous and so very true! My mom Dotty also raised 4 girls by herself in Cambridge while working as a waitress very long hours 7 days a week. We were fortunate my grandmother lived nearby to help. There were no food stamps (only green stamp books), no Mass Health or dental insurance just lots rolling nickels/dimes/quarters to pay for things- thankfully none of us had major health issues! Sandy (Maxwell) Quigley

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anonymous

    Thanks for bringing back memories of Central Sq when it was a gritty and blue-collar type of place. I grew up in Inman Sq. when it had the Haberdasher clothing store.

    Like

Leave a comment